About us – DEPARTMENT OF COMPUTER SCIENCE – Government Arts College for Men (Autonomous)


Department of Computer Science

The department of Computer Science was established in the year 1999 to offer B.Sc. (Computer Science) with an intake of 32 students. M.Sc. (Computer Science) was started in the year 2005 with an intake of 8 students, now it is increased to 20 students. In the year 2006 an additional section in B.Sc. Computer Science was started. M.Phil. (Computer Science) was started in the year 2013 with an intake of 12 students. We have full time Ph.D. course and waiting for recognition.

The Department imparts high quality training to students through the latest in Computer Technology. In order to maintain the quality and standard of education, the department constantly upgrades the academic syllabi so as to keep the students well trained to deal with changing trends in the field of Computing and Information Technology fields.

The department offers B.Sc., M.Sc and M.Phil. in Computer Science. The Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) is followed for both UG and PG programmes. Our graduates have distinguished themselves in higher studies at the top Universities. They also occupy leading positions in reputed MNC’s. Our Alumni are contributing in the development of the department as well as mentoring the existing students. There are eight eminent regular Assistant Professors, five Guest Lecturers and one regular Programmer currently working in this department.

Courses Offered